jump to navigation

gear update: boosts (pt. 2), amps, cabs September 18, 2007

Posted by Phillip in Amps, Church, Effects, Guitar, Live Sound, Music, Worship.
trackback

Here’s a quick update on the boost situation. My buddy finished the boost over the weekend and had it ready for me to try out on Sunday morning. I got it set during sound check and used it during both services. In fact, it’s pretty much the only pedal that I used for dirt. I tried the Silver Kiss for some added gain during a solo, but it changed the character of the amp a little too much.

The boost that he had ready for me this weekend is kind of a dirty boost, as opposed to a clean boost. It not only boosts the overall volume output, but it adds a little gain. I had to set the level pretty low with my Les Paul, or else it gets a little too “woolly,” for lack of a better word. [Have I mentioned that I love that LP? It is an amazing instrument.] I need to try out the boost at higher levels with my ’94 Strat.

He’s working on a mosfet clean boost this week, and I think that I’ll probably use both of them. One for crunch and one for leads. Maybe I’ll look at some stacking options. If this works out, I may just eschew distortion pedals altogether. It seems silly to use solid state pedals (transistor and diode clipping) for distortion when you’ve got a great tube amplifier just begging to be cranked.

Speaking of which, I’m really beginning to love the Reeves Custom 6. I think that I’m finally figuring out how to use it properly. Playing with a loud tube amp is very different from using modelers or a clean amp with pedals. I have it turned up to about 1:00 on the gain (no master volume on this amp), and it can go from clean to crunch depending on your pick attack. Stepping on a boost makes the signal hit the preamp stage harder and causes it to clip (or distort) a little more. It’s pretty amazing how versatile this setup is.

I got a new empty cab from Avatar Speakers on ebay this weekend for a pretty ridiculous price. I already have a 12″ speaker cab, but it’s not that great. I’m really eager to check it out and hear the difference. I wanted to get a 2×12″ cab, but it’d be too big for the isolation box that I’m using right now.

I guess that’s it for now. I hope that someone is able to glean some insight from all my rambling… =)

Comments»

1. portorikan - September 18, 2007

you mentioned an isolation box. Can you describe this for me a bit. I’ve thought for quite a while on grabbing some wood from Lowes or something and creating a nice little box for my Peavey Classic 30 which is ridiculously too loud for general church use.

Just want to get some insight into how you do your thing.

Also, maybe go into the boost set up a little more. I think I have a general understanding, but quite frankly, it seems like I’d have to do a lot of fidgeting with volume controls and what not, which I’m not interested in doing.

2. worshipguitarist - September 19, 2007

Ok – my isolation box is basically just what you’re describing. Just grab some plywood from Lowe’s (or wherever) and make a 4-sided box big enough to enclose your amp. Use some kind of foam to dampen the insides, make a cover for the top and you’re done. The foam is important (especially along the top) – don’t skip that part. Don’t leave any holes for the sound to escape and you should be set.

I’ll do another post about the boost situation later today, so check back for that.

3. portorikan - September 19, 2007

Sweet, that’s for the info. Curious though, do you worry about your tubes overheating in the box? Just wondering if that’s something I should be concerned with.

4. worshipguitarist - September 19, 2007

Well, I’ve got a head/cab configuration, so the cab sits in the box and the head is on top of the box. You should probably plan to build the box bigger than necessary to prevent the amp from being smothered.


Leave a comment